Skip to content

Holy Daring

February 16, 2011

“Holy daring.”  My wife tells me the novelist Gail Godwin uses the words in her book Unfinished Desires.  Godwin offers this description:

“When you let yourself be guided by divine improvisation which is being in service to a work larger than yourself and being of one heart with others who belong together with you in that work.”

What a great deal is packed in here, and what an inspiring vision of what most matters in life.  I realized this week that about every six years, a new chapter of “holy daring” somehow bursts forth in my life.  It is a scary journey, a movement from the known to the unknown — being “guided” because there is no map for uncharted territory.  The “larger than yourself” and “being of one heart” with companions who “belong together with you” make it so worth it, that plunge into the unknown.

About the Author: Chris Rice is co-director of the Center for Reconciliation at Duke Divinity School.  He is author of Reconciling All Things, Grace Matters, and More Than Equals. He writes regularly at the blog Reconcilers.

Last 5 posts on Reconcilers:

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 7:56 pm

    Chris,
    You were invited and arrived at Bethel Seminary, I am guessing, in my first year of Seminary, 2005. Your speaking, faith and love of others was evident in every word you spoke.
    I want to thank you for taking the time to travel and speak.
    Your willingness to do so back in 2005 or 2006, who knows when it was, began an unfolding and transformative process in my life that has not stopped.
    Today I love people and desire reconciliation and unity more than ever.
    I am now seeking my Ed.D in Leadership at Creighton University because I so enjoy the Jesuit tradition and charisms.
    Again, I want to thank you for what you do and what you stand for.
    I have also come to know Chris Heuertz at Word Made Flesh and I hope that maybe one day, I will be able to make it out to Duke to be a part of the summer reconciliation institute.
    Hope and Peace,
    Andrew S. Dungan

Leave a Reply

