Skip to content

Springsteen’s New Album: Do We Take Care of Our Own?

February 22, 2012

“My work has always been about judging the distance between American reality and the American dream, how far is that at any given moment” – Bruce Springsteen

I’ve got my first-ever Bruce Springsteen concert tickets in hand (Greensboro, NC March 19).  Lives destroyed by the recession is the theme of his new album “Wrecking Ball.”  Two years ago his music interrupted me and I haven’t stopped listening.  From “Brothers Under the Bridge” (Vietnam vets) to “You’re Missing” (9/11) to “Gypsy Biker” (Iraq War casualty) I’m not sure there’s a more prominent public prophet today who humanizes America’s pain and calls us to be more.  Some lyrics from the title track “We Take Care of Our Own”:

Where’re the eyes, the eyes with the will to see
Where’re the hearts, that run over with mercy
Where’s the love that has not forsaken me
Where’s the work that set my hands, my soul free
Where’s the spirit that’ll reign, reign over me
Where’s the promise, from sea to shining sea

Who’s your choice for America’s most important public prophet?

See also:  The Wisdom of the Boss

Last 5 Reconcilers posts:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

